top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day 48 - Joy Joy Joy Joy Down in my Heart!




When my children were young, cassette tapes were the ‘in’ thing and we had a small collection of Psalty tapes. Psalty (the singing songbook) was introduced in the "Kids Praise" series, which was produced by Maranatha! Music between 1980 and 1991. These tapes taught us many songs, most of which have not stood the test of time. However, that does not stop them squirreling round in my mind occasionally!


Ernie Rettino used old words by George William Cooke, as a basis for his joyful song, “Joy in my Heart”. Its simple lyrics tell a timeless and valuable truth:

"I’ve got that joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart…down in my heart to stay. And I’m so happy, so very happy, I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart...”


I’ve grown a bit since the Psalty days and I was listening to a Stuart Townend CD track called “There is a hope”. As is often the case, when we have a word in our head, it crops up all over the place. The actual phrase I heard is “joy unspeakable will flood my soul”. We spend a lot of time trying to define aspects of our faith, and yet a modern hymnwriter can get away with no real description except that words are not enough!


“Joy unspeakable” is actually found in 1 Peter 1:8: “Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory” (KJV). Other translations give us: inexpressible and glorious joy or indescribable and glorious joy; Towend says this “joy unspeakable” will hit us at the hour of our death.


So, between a child-like faith and a faith which takes us from the grave to glory, we might ponder on Psalm 16: 8-9,11 (TLB): I am always thinking of the Lord; and because he is so near, I never need to stumble or fall. Heart, body, and soul are filled with joy. You have let me experience the joys of life and the exquisite pleasures of your own eternal presence.


Let us pray:

Like the psalmist, Heavenly Father, we know that true joy comes from having you deep in our hearts, bodies and souls. Knowing you are around us and within gives us joy unspeakable. Yet all is not well in the world you created good. Give us the courage to share our joy with others; let the way that interacts with others bring them glimpses of our joy within.


Jesus, when we think of your life as told in the Gospels, joy is not the first thing that springs to mind. We focus on discipleship, mystery and the tasks we feel we have to do as your hands and feet on earth.


Yet, Holy Spirit, we ask that you remind us that with your indwelling help, we can radiate joy even as we wash up in church kitchen, clean up after toddler group, or spend time listening to lonely or troubled people.


Trinitarian God, we thank you for joy unspeakable!


Elaine Kinchin

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page