top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day Forty Seven - Kicking up leaves


And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified. But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. Today in the town of David a saviour has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord. This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”

Luke v2:8-11


Last week, I enjoyed a late annual event, which I have celebrated ever since childhood. It was something I first shared with my parents, then with Nicola, next with our children and then finally alone. Can you guess which simple activity brings me such joy? Here is a clue: I was standing near a Liquidambar styraciflua.


Well, it was kicking up leaves in the park. A simple childlike pleasure which flows through the generations. I love it. Do you? If not, then what do you rejoice in? What floats your boat and makes you feel warm all over and ready to face anything?


This was also an occasion when having white hair was an advantage. You see, some of the folk were giving me stern looks for messing up their leaves. Others, however, were saying, ‘Poor soul. He’s old and probably lost it.’ Sometimes, you just get lost in the moment.


As I kicked up the leaves, I remembered Psalm 4:7 where the Psalmist asks God to, ‘fill my heart with joy.’ Well, God was certainly filling my heart with joy. I wonder how many of us have uttered that same prayerful request during 2020?


What better way to answer our prayers and fill our hearts with joy than to remember the words which the angel uttered to the shepherds,


“Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. Today in the town of David a saviour has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord.’ (Luke 2:10b &11)


May each one of us be wrapped up in the joy of celebrating our saviour’s birth as we approach Christmas day. Amen


Michael Rolton

0 views0 comments
bottom of page