top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day Forty Eight - Let us rejoice and be glad in it


Somebody once wrote: "This crazy world seems a lot less crazy when you spend time each day in prayer."


Strangely enough I find that so true in my own life, more so at this time of year. To me those words are interesting and full of truth for we do live in a kind of crazy world - more so these days. Interesting to note also that through the ages there have been many comments made about prayer from church leaders and lay people which offer encouragement in these times. They are individuals who have been through rough times and as a result have realised the true value of prayer, for example:


Cynthia Lewis wrote: “If your day is hemmed in with prayer, it is less likely to come unravelled.” Well, that is a valid point don’t you think?


Corrie Ten Boom commented: “Any concern too small to be turned into a prayer is too small to be made into a burden.”


Charles Stanley exposes another truth: “We can be tired, weary, and emotionally distraught, but after spending time alone with God, we find that He injects into our body’s energy, power and strength.”


Oswald Chambers, one of my favourite writers has several comments to make on the subject of prayer, such as: “Prayer is not getting things from God, that is the most initial stage; prayer is getting into perfect communion with God; I tell Him what I know He knows, in order that I may get to know it as He does.”


He also brings out an important point to those looking for immediate prayer answers when he says: “Never make the blunder of trying to forecast the way God is going to answer your prayer.” That can be a failing with us sometimes.


Some of you may remember Blind Willie Johnson an American gospel blues singer song writer, and popular evangelist. He wrote a song called: Leave it There. It is a song that more or less gives us direction when we come before the Lord:


Oh, leave it there, Oh, leave it there

Take your burden to the Lord and leave it there,

If you trust and never doubt, he will surely bring you out

Well, take your burden to the Lord and leave it there’


Modern day gospel singer Bradley Walker does a superb version of the song.


As we move into this new day let us do as Psalm 118:24 suggests: “This is the day which the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”


Gracious God and heavenly father, I pray that You will build my faith so strong that I can stand up to challenge with a smile on my face, spring in my step, and a song from my lips. I ask to be empowered with Your faith so that I may see possibilities turn to reality. I centre my faith in positivity. I love You with a heart bursting with joy. Make this day a wonder and I will marvel as my faith grows. Amen


Tom Bonnar

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page