top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day Fifty Two - Is Christmas cancelled?


As I sit to write this reflection, I have just heard the Prime Minister tell us that further Covid-19 restrictions are being placed on thousands of people around the United Kingdom and that for many ‘Christmas is cancelled’, due to the rapid spread of the number of people testing positive for Covid-19.


We all want to keep those close to us safe, and as I sit here and contemplate what I have heard I have realised that no matter what level of restrictions are placed on us, no human being can cancel Christmas for Christians! Christmas is not about the presents, the parties, and the hype. It is about God sending us His son, who will come, and come again, to live amongst us, and to die to save us from sin. Isn’t that a wonderful certainty!


So, when I recall this and say it aloud, the disappointment and anxiety of our current situation puts everything into perspective and helps me feel calm and at peace, and it gives me the motivation and reserve to do what God wants me to do.


It reminds me that we can do our best to keep our loved ones safe while still worshipping God through prayer and celebrating the birth of His son this Christmas whether that be worshipping alone at home, or with others in a variety of ways - by telephone, on-line or in person, depending on what tier you are in and your own personal circumstances, and we can do this whilst protecting those we love as God asked us to do.


“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.” Matthew 22:37


We read in the Gospel of John and are reminded by the words in the hymn ‘I give you a new commandment, that you love one another. Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples if you have love for one another’. John 13:34 -35.


When I was growing up and became a Brownie and later a Guide, we were taught to put others before ourselves and I have tried to live my life by that mantra, with various degrees of success in the years since. But by taking responsibility for our own actions and putting others before ourselves we are carrying out God’s commandments, re-enforced in Matthews Gospel by Jesus when he said, “You shall love your neighbour as yourself”. Matthew 22:39


So, despite our current situation come to God this Christmas in Love and Peace and celebrate!


Dear Father,

You have given us your all and we can never thank you enough.

We want to do the right thing, no matter how difficult it is for us at times.

Help and guide us and show us the way to go,

Now and for ever. Amen.


Kathy Shaw

4 views0 comments
bottom of page