top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day 57 - Sculpture ... Mosaic ... Last Supper




I collect interpretations of the Last Supper. These include: a knitted one, a wooden plaque, a plaster cast painted to look like bronze, and a little one made of volcanic lava from the slopes of Mount Etna. But I cannot collect anything except photos of this amazing sculpture, currently on display at Dorchester Abbey as part of its tour around the country.


Sculptor Peter Barnes said, “My aim was to recreate Leonardo da Vinci’s painting as an abstract, three-dimensional form; I wanted to keep the detail to a minimum while retaining all the expression and interaction of the characters.”


Bringing the Last Supper into the 21st century, the sculpture is covered in a mosaic of keys from computer keyboards. Not only does this hint at modern ways of communicating God’s word, it actually includes some Bible quotes for viewers to find!


Over 50,000 keys were used. “I wanted this sculpture to be finished with a mosaic but not in a conventional way…the letters, numbers and symbols could be utilised to create further interest and meaning.”


I wrote the above before I visited. We then went and WOW does not describe it! A bigger than life-size sculpture covered in random letters and some Scripture. I managed to spot “I can do everything through him who strengthens me” and “I am the resurrection and the life”. All the disciples are named and the one who is looming across the table is labelled Judas. He has a clenched fist, or perhaps it is the bag of coins. He seems to be declaiming: ‘Surely not I, Rabbi?’ in response to Jesus saying: ‘Truly I tell you, one of you will betray me.’ And they became greatly distressed and began to say to him one after another, ‘Surely not I, Lord?’ He answered, ‘The one who has dipped his hand into the bowl with me will betray me’ (Matthew 26: 20-23, 25)


A sculpture, unlike a painting, is three-dimensional. So what has Peter Barnes done on the back? Probably a lot more Scripture which is set between the symbols for Alpha and Omega.


I would love to know what impact the sculpture has had on non-believers because for me it was (and still is) SO powerful. Was there any downside at all? Yes, the café wasn’t open!


A prayer from the Iona community is inconspicuously placed on a nearby table beside the Abbey’s visitors’ book and a book for comments to the sculptor himself.


The world around us is full of beauty: We praise your name O God…

Creator of the cosmos, of eternity and time: Be with us in this time

Saviour of the world, Healer of the nations: Be with us in this place

Breath of all that lives, of people near and far: Stir within our lives

Maker-Spirit-Son, God of here and now: Be present in our worship, that we may find new ways to be present in your world. Amen


Elaine Kinchin

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page