top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day 90 - A Mind to Faith


Have you ever gone somewhere or carried something out and had a feeling of having the experience before – a ‘déjà vu moment’? Recently I visited somewhere that I am sure I have never been to before, but on arrival there was a familiarity about the location that I couldn’t explain.


Our minds are very complex and have many layers to it. There is an intricate network containing information. Our minds can play tricks on us including having selective memory, false memories, or no memory at all about something that we have experienced. I’m sure psychologists and psychiatrists could give you the medical terms for such experiences.


When experiencing external stimuli, we all react in different ways to try to deal with what is going on. Two people in the same situation will probably react differently, depending on past experiences, internal coping mechanisms, resources etc.


Such external influences can cause us to have times when we feel stressed or anxious. At such times we can choose to do nothing about it, or we can try to find things that help us to manage these times and can help us to improve things. In such situations we often go to our default mode, whether that is to do nothing, turn and run or to turn to very practical tasks to distract ourselves.


But do you ever think to turn to your faith and to God at such times? If not, why not? What is stopping you? God is there, he knows your situation at any given time, and he is waiting for you to turn to him.


“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God”. Philippians 4:6 NRSV


There are many aspects to a person’s faith, and it has some similarities with the mind, in that it is layered. We have choices in our faith, and we can choose how complex or intricate it is, unlike our mind that often seems to work independently of us.


Our choices in our faith are wide. We can believe in God or choose not to. We can have a surface faith, with little depth, or we can choose to go deeper into what we believe. We can choose to live our lives as God wants us to do, or we can choose to live a very different life deficient of God.


When I feel stressed or anxious, I often stop what I am doing and take a few moments out to sit quietly, to interact with God, be that a prayer or a few moments reading scripture, or even just a general chat with Him.


“When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles”. Psalm 34:17 NRSV


At such times I have learnt to temporarily block out the situation that is stressing me and to focus on my interaction with God, to focus on the words and their meaning.


I find that this ‘time out’, however short helps me to lower my stress level, helping me feel less anxious, giving me the energy to think more clearly.


“For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” 2 Timothy 1:7 NRSV


So next time you are feeling stressed or anxious think about taking a few moments to take it to God. It works!


Father God,

Remind me to take time out to come to you,

And when I come to you unsure, confused, overwhelmed,

Quieten my mind and clear my thought.

Help me to come closer to you, and to hear your voice,

And to focus on you only.

Quieten my mind and clear my thoughts.

Amen.


Kathy Shaw

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page