top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day 83 - When God has a different plan


When young we have an expectation of what our life will be like by the time, we are in our 50’s and 60’s onwards, and an assumption that we will have more free time to do what we want to do. I was no different in this view and in my 20’s and 30’s I imagined drifting into retirement before the official age and having more time to pursue hobbies and relax. But sometimes God has other ideas!


For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to breakdown, and a time to build up; A time to weep, and a time to laugh.

Ecclesiastes 3:1,3-4


The covid pandemic threw that vision up in the air for many, and for me in more ways than I could ever have imagined. This coupled with a change in personal circumstances certainly set me a challenge. I now find myself with even less time to pursue hobbies and interests, and little time to relax, having incrementally taken on the role of carer for those I love. I have willingly taken on the role, but it has meant that I have had to rethink my vision.


Many of you can probably identify with my experience. Adjusting to any change can be daunting, especially if you are suddenly thrown into an environment that is totally different to the one that you are used to, and change is not always a choice. Focusing on the practical changes that are needed, although demanding physically in many ways is the easiest to do. But to cope with such a change in circumstances we need a change of mindset too.


Being a practical person, I took on the challenge of learning a new medical ‘lingo’ and finding my way around the system with an enthusiastic vigour. Previously having been a manager I was used to managing competing priorities and tasks. But even this can be daunting when faced with a diary full of appointments and a list of medications to be taken at different times and varying amounts.


What I hadn’t anticipated was the mind change that was going to be required. Nobody prepares you and you are left feeling that it is down to your own resilience and ability to process change that determines how it goes.


Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, so that you may discern what is the will of God – what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Romans 12:2


But take heart. GOD IS IN CONTROL! He is there alongside us and He knows exactly what we need. He knows what things will help us to deal with the issues. He also knows what we need to be able to process the situation and successfully do what is needed. When we don’t know what to do, and the way seems impossible, God has more ideas than we can ever imagine helping us remove barriers and overcome such difficulties. He will quieten our minds and give us peace. Phew! That’s a relief don’t you think!


Lord,

Quieten my mind,

Especially in the early hours

When issues seem huge

And solutions too few.

Quieten my mind,

When I am unable to sleep,

And the hours are long.

Quieten my mind,

And bring me your peace. Amen.


Kathy Shaw

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page