top of page
Search
  • Neil Chappell

Day eight - God's Sunrise


A Warwickshire Sunset

Through the heartfelt mercies of our God, God’s Sunrise will break in upon us, Shining on those in the darkness, those sitting in the shadow of death, Then showing us the way, one foot at a time, down the path of peace. Luke 1:78-79 – The Message

There’s one thing I enjoy doing from time to time, and that is capturing a sunrise or a sunset. The colours of the sky, clouds and sun defy description and move me in a profound way. I think because I can’t describe it, it’s become my outlet to post an image or two on Facebook or just keep on my phone, hopefully capturing that moment and from time to time just gazing on it again. Possibly that’s why this verse immediately captivates my thoughts because it begins, “Through the heartfelt mercies of our God, God’s Sunrise will break in upon us”. If I can’t describe the beauty of a sunrise in my back garden, I can’t begin to describe God’s Sunrise in my life, and all the hope, peace, joy and love it brings.

I know The Message version of the Bible may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but how it makes me smile every time I come across this verse. The imagery, the prose, the detail is just perfect to draw me into this passage, and to see the light that begins to break into the darkness that so often surrounds me, threatens me, overwhelms me.

It reassures me that this light then draws me on, gently prods and pokes me, guides me carefully to the path of peace. What is peace? In the book Not the Way It's Supposed to Be: A Breviary of Sin, author Cornelius Plantinga describes the Old Testament concept of shalom:

“The webbing together of God, humans, and all creation in justice, fulfilment, and delight is what the Hebrew prophets call shalom. We call it peace but it means far more than mere peace of mind or a cease-fire between enemies. In the Bible, shalom means universal flourishing, wholeness and delight – a rich state of affairs in which natural needs are satisfied and natural gifts fruitfully employed, a state of affairs that inspires joyful wonder as its Creator and Saviour opens doors and welcomes the creatures in whom he delights. Shalom, in other words, is the way things ought to be.”

What a wonderful picture of God’s peace – universal flourishing.

Advent Prayer Gracious God, may your peace flourish in my heart today. May the whole of your creation delight in your peace. May I never rest until all humanity knows your peace. Give me the courage today to be your beloved. Give me courage to embrace peace. Give me courage to share your peace with the world. Amen.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page