top of page
Search
  • Marjory Kelsall

Day two - a time of expectation


Advent, a time of expectation – of looking forward to the coming of a special gift from God.

When I was a child in the 1940’s and early 1950’s my expectation of Christmas was very simple. I loved being in the school nativity play and I looked forward to being given a new book for Christmas, especially if it was an Enid Blyton adventure story, and yes, I realise that her books now have bad press sometimes. I loved reading and hoped that there may be more than one book in the pillow case placed at the end of my bed on Christmas morning and perhaps, some slippers.

One favourite gift was a book of the stories of Jesus. I really believed that the golden haired man with kind eyes in the pictures was a true representation of Jesus and I looked forward to being able to meet him one day. I didn’t realise then that He could be with me every day. A promised gift, which brought so much excitement to a small child, cannot be compared with the gift from God of a son, His Son, which the Angel Gabriel promised to Mary.

Mary’s wonder that such a thing should be happening to her, and Elizabeth’s joy when they met, caused Mary’s heart to overflow and she glorified the Lord in her prayer. “My soul glorifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour.” I wonder how we express our feelings when God has blessed us in some special way? Mary sang to the Lord. David danced. Do we dare express our faith so openly?

Mary’s joy was because she had been given good news. She had been given hope for a better future for her people – hope in dark times – hope of a Saviour. Advent concentrates my thoughts on where I am in my faith journey, my thoughts and my prayers. Our nation is going through dark times and our strength, our hope for the future, lies in the powerhouse which the prayers of faithful people fill.

What am I seeking this Advent? What are you? Are you able to look forward in Hope?

When we are lost for words in our prayers, God’s Word never fails us. The prayer of Habakkuk Ch 3 2 (NLT) “I have heard all about You Lord. I am filled with awe by Your amazing works. In this time of our deep need, help us again as you did in years gone by, and in Your anger, remember Your mercy.”

Prayer: Lord, as we journey through Advent towards the wonderful coming of Your Son Jesus, help us to draw nearer to You. Give us courage to speak of our faith and, as Peter urges us, help us to be ready to give an explanation of the hope that we have in You. Amen

Expectation of christmas presents

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page