top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day Thirty Seven - What are you looking for?


I recently read a fascinating story about a painting in Dulwich Picture Gallery entitled, The Return of the Prodigal Son. This story has been painted hundreds and hundreds of times, most famously by Caravaggio and Rembrandt. Initially, when this painting was bequeathed to the Gallery it was attributed to Jusepe de Ribera. The form and substance of the painter was undeniable in this work, but it was not his work. The author of The Return of the Prodigal Son is probably someone from the close circle or the workshop of Italian artists living in Naples around 1620-40.


What drew me to this painting were the faces of the father and the son. Zooming in on the father’s face I was most moved to discover tears running down his face. Tears of happiness? Tears of relief? Tears of pride? What do you think brought tears to the father’s eyes? It’s amazing that such raw emotion can be depicted so realistically and so beautifully on canvas.


And then the son’s face. He’s not looking at his father, and his head is downcast, indicating the shame and remorse he feels. When the parable began what was he looking for? Adventure? To make his own way in the world? To make a name for himself? To find his own voice? Whatever the answer might be we can be sure he didn’t find it. At the conclusion of this story, despite the sorrow, the shame, the regret he feels, when I look at his face in this painting I see peace. It’s as if his father’s love, his acceptance, his welcome has smoothed away all anxiety and worry. Is this not what he was looking for in the first place? And I’m sure the father’s love hadn’t changed. In this parable there is the faint echo of Psalm 40:


I waited and waited and waited for God.

At last he looked; finally he listened.

He lifted me out of the ditch,

pulled me from deep mud.

He stood me up on a solid rock

to make sure I wouldn’t slip.

(Psalm 40 The Message)


Amongst all the worry and anxiety we face in this world where will we find our peace? It reminds me of the encounter in John’s gospel when Jesus was calling the first disciples. Two of John’s disciples started to follow Jesus and he turned and said to them: “What are you looking for?” (John 1:38 GNB)


We are looking for that peace, the perfect peace, that passes all understanding. A peace that calms, that restores, that lifts us up. There will still be times when we look in the wrong place, wandering off on our own in search for adventure. But as usual, our God will always still be waiting for us, with open arms, to give us peace.


Amazing grace! How sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me!

I once was lost, but now am found;

Was blind, but now I see.

Amen.


Neil Chappell

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page