top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day Forty Nine - To Russia with Love ... and Joy


I have always had a love of Russia, and when I was invited to write a ‘cultural reflection’ I couldn’t resist the opportunity to write about a country and a people that I love. My first trip to Russia was during Advent 1995, 4 years after the Communist rule ended, and a time when there were still many shortages of essential items. My reason for visiting was to help to re-establish Guiding and Scouting in Russia. My first trip was to Eastern Siberia - via a visit to the British Embassy in Moscow - as a member of a training team, tasked to train the first girl scout leaders in the subject ‘The Spiritual Dimension of Guiding’. Many of the potential Guide Leaders had previously been Pioneer Leaders (the youth arm of the Communist Party) and the only youth activity option open to young people during the Communist rule. Most of these leaders described themselves as having no faith.


At the time I left Britain having had little time to prepare, knowing little about the environment I was going to, armed with my belief in God and his ability to protect and guide me, as well as my Bible amongst the resources travelling with me, putting my trust in God and with one of my favourite bible verses in mind.


“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight”. Proverbs 3:5-6


Before my visit my only perceptions of Russia and its people had been formed by the TV and media, showing the Russian people queuing for food and confirming shortages of all sorts of everyday things. What the media hadn’t really shown me was the resilience and resourcefulness of the Russian people. Having lived with them I saw this resilience and determination to move forward, and I experienced fantastic Russian hospitality and love. What I hadn’t anticipated was the immense generosity and as a Christian I hadn’t expected to see a strong spirituality in the way they live.


I left at the end of my first visit a changed person, feeling I had learnt more from them than I could ever teach them, and with a renewed spirituality and faith. I was not only enlightened but also humbled by their ability to not only face adversity with a strength of character I had never seen before, but with an appreciation and enjoyment in things that many people here take for granted.


“Be strong and bold; have no fear or dread of them because it is the Lord your God who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not fail you or forsake you”. Deuteronomy 31:6,8


I returned home to be confronted by the madness of the build-up to Christmas, and I felt physically sick to see people in our local supermarket loading their shopping trolleys with far more than they could ever eat or use.


So why am I sharing this and what has it to do with ‘Joy’? Well despite the hardships that many people faced, there was an amazing acceptance of circumstances, a joyful atmosphere wherever I went and even the simplest of things was celebrated and enjoyed. Coming together for a simple meal was turned into an occasion to celebrate, with speeches, singing and dancing and plenty of laughter, often someone appearing from nowhere with a guitar or balalaika to serenade us. There was a feeling of thanksgiving and peace.


The decline of people with a faith in Britain probably mirrors the situation in Russia, with only 25% of people there admitting they have a faith. Christmas Day in Russia is celebrated on 7th January each year, and traditions include carols and fortune telling as well as sharing of simple gifts. Russian Orthodox tradition is that of fasting for 40 days leading up to Christmas Eve. But despite their lack of a formal faith, there was a spirituality about them and the way they lived their lives that made me feel that God was there with them, whether they wanted him or not!


“By this we know that we abide in Him and He in us, because He has given us of His spirit”. 1 John 4:13


The Russian people have a fantastic sense of humour, as well as a level of humanity second to none. They are not only resourceful, but creative and incredibly kind and I saw their willingness to share what they have with others, no matter how little they have, which was humbling to witness.


On my second trip to Volgagrad, to celebrate their Christmas, the temperature was -25°c and the appearance of snow (the depth of which I had never experienced before) added to the ambience of the season. I didn’t see a single nativity scene or hear any carols being sung, but I did experience a real sense of hope and joy as well as a peace and renewal I have rarely experienced.


“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever”. Hebrews 13:8


God gave us the natural world to tend and nurture and although many of the Russian people may not openly have a faith, they are certainly a spiritual people, reaching out with a respect rarely seen and understanding the need to protect what they have within the natural world around them with joyful hearts.


Kathy Shaw

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page