top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day Forty Six - What can I do


From the high and holy, to a manger lowly

The greatest mystery the world has ever known

How you left your majesty, to embrace humanity

It awes and humbles me, to be loved by a God so high

Hebrews 12:2 says, “For the joy set before Him, He endured the cross…”.

But that is only half the story; Jesus Christ, the creator of the universe, the one who could go anywhere and do anything, who had a myriad of angels at his beck and call, confined himself to a womb for nine months, made himself totally dependent on a young poor couple.

The one who could do anything in heaven, couldn’t even wipe his own bottom for the first year or so of his earthly existence. He made himself like every one of us, He did the four things every baby does; sleep, eat, poo and cry!

The cattle are lowing the baby awakes, but little Lord Jesus no crying He makes

Utter nonsense! All babies, when woken up suddenly, bawl their eyes out!

Many of the traditional carols have sublime lines like:

He came down to earth from heaven, ‘Who is God and Lord of all’.


And totally crass ones like:

‘Christian children all should be, mild obedient good as He’. (I banned that verse in church!)

But the thought that God loved me so much that he gave up everything of Heaven and subjected Himself for everything on earth, fills me with joy!

And as the song says,


What can I do but thank You,

What can I do but give my life to You

Hallelujah, hallelujah

What can I do but praise You,

Everyday make everything I do a hallelujah

A hallelujah, hallelujah

Vince Carrington

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page