top of page

Day 26 - Being reminded




A brief bible study and personal reflection on a verse from 2 Timothy


‘I am reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also.’

2 Timothy 1:5 (NIV)


Most bibles cite Paul as the author of 2 Timothy, but there are scholars who disagree and attribute authorship to one of his disciples. This view is based on comparison with the style, language and theology found in other writings of Paul. But does this uncertainty detract from the epistle and the advice it contains? I do not think it does. The epistle provides a window on early Christian beliefs and practices, and the guidance in 2 Timothy appears to be both sound and wise. As such, the book is worth studying.


The author begins with, ‘I am reminded,’ which I see as recalling memories rather than being reminded by visitors. This emphasises the personal nature of this letter, which would prompt Timothy to recall his own reflections on their shared time and experiences. Having established a bond, the author singles out Timothy’s faith. Wow, how I would like my old friends to remember me for my faith and not an embarrassing incident.


The author goes on to mention Timothy’s grandmother and mother in the middle of verse five. These two mothers played a crucial role in establishing Timothy’s faith. Many of you will have positive memories of how more spiritually mature Christians nurtured your faith during your early years. But let us not forget that we now bear that responsibility, and we must perform this role to God’s glory. This role is embraced within the concept of your first church, where you were baptised, as being your mother church, and Mothering Sunday became the day you returned there. There is also a nod towards Joseph and Mary returning to Bethlehem.


Although we celebrate both our mother church and mother, there are those who never knew their mother or wish they had not. Other folk might have two fathers, or two mothers, whilst others have a motherly tie with their aunt or grandmother. It is easy to focus on the birth mother/child bond but spare a thought for the people who never enjoyed that type of relationship.


Last year, I visited my mother church (the church where I became a Christian and where I was baptised). My trip was a form of pilgrimage and reflective retreat. The baptistry survives as does the church building, but the worshippers have either died, or now worship elsewhere. The church has changed but I am neither downcast nor despondent because I have wonderful memories of my younger days.


Prayer – Father, thank you for the wisdom and guidance contained within 2 Timothy. I pray you will help me to be a good mother or parental figure to those for whom I have taken legal or spiritual responsibility. Thank you for giving me the privilege of helping others to grow in the faith.

Amen.


Michael Rolton

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page