top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day 12 - Call me by my name




I prepared this on a day when I met an Indian Christian called Damayanthi. Hoping it might help me to remember her name, I asked her what her name meant. Damayanthi means lotus-flower. The lectionary readings for today include Genesis 17: 1-7,15-16 and Mark 8:31-38. The Genesis verses tell the tale of Abram and Sarai having their names changed – because we all know that the meaning of Biblical names is of vital importance. I thought about the major characters in Scripture whose name changes I could remember: Jacob, Naomi, Simon, Saul and Daniel and his three friends!


Abram means exalted father, while Abraham means father of a multitude – both of these were prophetic as Abram was old and yet to have any children. Sarai, his wife, became Sarah, although both mean Princess, it is suggested that the change shows God would work through Sarah as well.


Jacob, having wrestled with God all night, was renamed Israel. (Genesis 32:28) The ‘supplanter’ became ‘he who prevails with God’.


Naomi “pleasant” became Mara “bitter” because her husband and sons had died.


Simon, “one who hears” was dubbed Peter, “rock”. This again was prophetic, as Simon the disciple showed flakiness until after the resurrection.


Saul to Paul is not really a change, more a translation, as Paul is the Greek version of the Hebrew Saul. However, Saul means prayed for, while Paul (sorry all Pauls) means little, although a nicer way of expressing the meaning might be humble.


Daniel and his friends are interesting. Most of us probably remember Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednigo. But the groups should be Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael and Azariah who became Belteshazzar, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednigo. These latter names were to force their assimilation into the culture of Babylon.


My names are Elaine Mary Jane (thanks Harold and Barbara Winifred). These translate as shining light, bitter and God is gracious. It has been prophesied to me that my name will be Twila - light in dark places.


My daughter is called Lucy. As our third child, my husband and found it difficult to agree on a name for our unborn child. We decided that I would choose the son’s name and my husband could name the daughter. He chose Lucy, as it would have been his name, if he had been female. So, when Lucy appeared, we were ready for her. The curious fact is that Lucy means born at daybreak. She entered the world at 6.50a.m. on an October morning whose sunrise is recorded at 6.49a.m!


Normally a reflection which gives examples from the Bible would give chapter and verse, but today is the Bible Study strand – so if any interest you particularly have you can look it up. And the links to me and my daughter are to remind us all that the Bible is not a static book – we need to open it with our own experiences, under the guidance of the Holy Spirit.


Elaine Kinchin

0 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page