top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day 96 - There is no such word as can’t!


There is no such word as can’t!


This was a sentence my mother would say to me when as a child I found something difficult and wanted to give up.


It was a sentence that came screaming back to me a couple of months ago when I was asked to lead a funeral thanksgiving service for one of our dear church members, as the day before the service the Minister had tested positive for Covid-19. My whole being was screaming, I can’t, I have no experience, I have no training, why me? Not wanting to let anyone down by having to have the service re-scheduled at such short notice I heard myself saying, yes, I’ll see what I can do.


In blind panic I reached for my daily readings and was amazed to find these words from Exodus 4 verse 12; “Now go: I will help you speak and teach you what to say.”


I felt a calming peace descending on me as I realised that yet again God was listening to my concerns and guiding my way. He gave me the confidence to go ahead and with the help of the service notes already written I was able to add other personal recollections and the service was well received and a great tribute to the life of our dear departed friend.


This experience led me to looking at people in the Bible who, like me, thought they were incapable or unsuitable for their calling. Moses is a classic example, when God called him to lead the Israelites out of Egypt, he cried and protested, “I am slow of speech and tongue”. To which, God replied, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Is it not I the Lord?” And then he says the words that helped me so much, “Now go: I will help you to speak and teach you what to say.”


Then at this time of Pentecost I thought of the disciples of Jesus, a tax collector, some fishermen, to name but a few, ordinary people. In Matthew 28 verses 19 and 20 we hear these words; “Therefore, go and make disciples of all nations, baptising them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely, I am with you always to the very end of the age.”


They must have been full of self-doubt, and uttering many a “I can’t”, waiting in the upper room wondering what this Holy Spirit was and how it could help them.


But what joy when the Holy Spirit descended upon them, what assurance and confidence it gave them to carry on the work that Jesus had commanded them to do. We too can experience this joy today, like Moses, like the disciples, all of us are here for a reason, and if we only let him, God graciously helps and guides us along the way because as promised he is with us until the end of the age.


He is there so we can turn “I can’t” into “Lord show me the way that I can”.


Julie Burnett

4 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page