top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day 74 - Shout praise for golden jubilee


Today is the National Assembly of the Congregational Federation. This will be the 48th Assembly, and will be held at Carrs Lane Church in Birmingham in the year when we are celebrating our Golden Anniversary. Today I thought it would be highly appropriate to share with you the first hymn that will be sung at Assembly today - Shout praise for golden jubilee.


Hymns are such an important part of our faith. They help us to express our praise to God, to sing the story of our faith and to inspire and encourage others. I was very pleased that a new hymn, a hymn written especially for our Golden Anniversary, was included as part of the proceedings.


I asked its author, Elisabeth Sweeney-Smith, a regular contributor to our ASecludedPlace series, to introduce it:


“When I read about the various activities to celebrate the Fiftieth Anniversary of the Congregational Federation the one that caught my eye was the Hymn Writing Workshop. But not being musical I decided to be an observer and watch others craft new hymns.


“The relaxed style of the experienced presenters talking about the technical aspects of how words fit a tune was encouraging and so I decided to give it a go using a well-known easy to follow melody.


“What guided my choice of lyrics was my desire to praise God whilst also hoping to highlight some of the key elements of our diverse congregational communities: the tune I knew from childhood and was what popped into my head as I closed down my laptop as the Zoom session ended. With some fine tuning from Janet Wootton, I am delighted and surprised that my first attempt is part of this special weekend’s celebrations.


“I hope you enjoy the end product and to God be the glory.”


(Sung to the tune of “The spirit lives to set us free, walk walk in the light!”)


Shout praise for golden jubilee

Praise, praise, praise the Lord

Recalling all that makes us free,

Praise, praise, praise the Lord

Chorus,

Praise ,come praise the Lord x3

Come, praise the Name of the Lord.


We walk together by God’s grace

Praise, praise, praise the Lord,

To worship God in every place

Praise, praise, praise the Lord

Chorus

Praise, come praise the Lord, x3

Come, praise the Name of the Lord.


We are the fingers on God’s hand,

Praise, praise, praise the Lord

Diverse yet unified we stand,

Praise, praise, praise the Lord.

Chorus

Praise, come praise the Lord, x3

Come, praise the Name of the Lord.


Creative God speak through my voice

Praise, praise, praise the Lord

In being heard we will rejoice

Praise, praise, praise the Lord.

Chorus

Praise, come praise the Lord, x3

Come, praise the Name of the Lord.


We serve to share his love with all

Praise, praise, praise the Lord,

To follow God’s distinctive call.

Praise, praise, praise the Lord.

Chorus

Praise, come praise the Lord, x3

Come, praise the Name of the Lord.

© (2022) Elisabeth Sweeney

1 view0 comments
bottom of page