top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day Thirty Five - Sing praise to God


"Addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with your heart." Ephesians 5:19 ESV


I come from a musical background and I was introduced to the Anglican Church Choir at the age of 8 years because the Vicar spotted that I had a talent. I joined but it was so stuffy and old, and the sopranos hurt my ears! To be honest the only reason I stayed until I was 13 was because I made friends with the organists’ daughters. I was brought up on Elvis, Rock and Roll, The Beatles, 60’s and 70’s music and Country music so it was a culture shock at first.


When I was in my 20’s, after my accident when I was feeling lost, I was teaching the guitar to someone who introduced me to The Jesus Centre and this amazing music that was like pop and rock and I thought it was amazing, I never knew that Church could be like this. I started playing in the band and later became a worship leader. For a long time though I still felt that there was something missing.


During this time of lockdown our Church has been on Zoom and you just can’t play a song on Zoom so I have been uploading music from YouTube with the lyrics and I was reminded of what I was missing between hymns and songs, it was the words. The old hymns I used to sing in the choir were like hearing a sermon and although some of the modern songs have great words sometimes they are repetitive and, in my view, not always Biblically accurate.


I love this quote:


"What a way to learn great theology! That's what comes to mind whenever I sing one of those old hymns. "And Can It Be" is like putting the doctrine of salvation to music. "Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing" is a melodic lesson in grace. No wonder good hymns make for strong faith!"

Joni Eareckson Tada


It sums up how I felt when I was a boy that although the music wasn’t and still isn’t my kind of thing the words spoke to me. I’m not saying I don’t like hymns and I always have hymns on Communion Sunday, but I am still a Rock Guitarist!


I often hear complaints about songs and hymns - “I didn’t know one of the hymns today” and I say, “well you do now”. And for a preacher that has spent hours working on the sermon the one thing that bugs me is when someone says, “lovely hymns”, ahh!! I want you to talk about the sermon, but maybe that is what they are saying in a roundabout way. And you know what, I do not think that hymns and songs are for us: “I will sing to the LORD as long as I live; I will sing praise to my God while I have being.” - Psalm 104:33 ESV.


When we sing praise songs, that is what we are doing, praising God. We are not at a concert or a show, the band are not performing, they should be worshiping and praising too. So, sing you heart out to the Lord in praise and thanks giving.


Justin Lunniss

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page