top of page
  • Writer's pictureCongregational Federation

Day Fifty One - A Gift of Tea


At the beginning of the Covid crisis I received a lovely gift of teas from a friend. Generally, I drink coffee but sometimes there is nothing so soothing or refreshing than a cup of tea. One northern tradition when there is a crisis, is to put on the kettle and stop to make and drink a cup of tea, after which the crisis seems less acute, and you are in a better frame of mind to deal with whatever the issue is. As a child I can remember numerous occasions where a crisis was dealt with in this way, and on one of those occasions I remember serving a dozen or so firemen with cups of tea and a plate of biscuits during one such crisis in the neighbourhood where I grew up.


The gift I received was a wooden tea box, filled with sachets of a wide variety of loose tea of different types – traditional teas, herbal and fruit teas, with a lovely little teapot tea diffuser. It is amazing how many different flavours of tea are available to us. A tea for different times of the day and for every occasion, to accommodate different tastes and moods. Some of the teas came from as far away as Sri Lanka and China. All were wrapped in neat little packages and clearly labelled. It was such a lovely and useful gift, especially as it arrived at a time that was particularly difficult, and I gave thanks to God for the pleasure of such a gift.


“Every generous act of giving, with every perfect gift, is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change”. James 1:17


Soon after the tea box arrived, after a particularly stressful morning I decided to treat myself to one of the teas in the box. After deliberating for a few minutes, I chose a ginger and lemon tea, and sat down with the hot tea and a shortbread biscuit, to let the effects of the tea (and sweet biscuit) work its magic.


As I drank my mind began to clear, and then it began to wander. How fortunate we are to have such an abundance and variety of foods available to us. Thinking about the teas and the process of growing, harvesting, and packing them, as well as the people whose livelihoods rely on the process across the world, I gave thanks to God for his infinite generosity.


“On the banks, on both sides of the river, there will grow all kinds of trees for food. Their leaves will not wither nor their fruit fail, but they will bear fresh fruit every month, because the water for them flows from the sanctuary. Their fruit will be food, and their leaves for healing”. Ezekiel 47:12


I am guilty of not thinking often enough about everything that God has given us and the sacrifices he has made for us, in giving us His greatest sacrifice- His Son.


I am also guilty of not considering enough where things come from and the impact on our planet and on other people. Likewise, I feel I am guilty of not giving enough thanks to God for all that I have available to me. So, if like me you tend to forget who to thank, let us make a pact to try harder and genuinely and sincerely thank God in the future.


Dear Father,

We often enjoy the things you have provided for us,

While forgetting to give you the thanks you are due.

Forgive us our greed and forgive us our weaknesses,

Help us to think wider, think deeper, be less selfish,

Being more open to the needs of others.

Help us to take opportunities to act responsibly,

And to do the right thing, to protect, preserve and share the resources we have.

Thank you, Father for everything. Amen


Kathy Shaw

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page